What’s In Yer Bag Mate?

I had a good idea what gear I needed to get the party started and Cabela’s website traffic increased considerably as I finalized my shopping list. I’d like to point out that I’ll be supporting local tackle shops in the future, but in this instance Cabela’s was a more convenient option.

As I was trimming down the list, Kathy said the magic words, “Would you like some gear for your birthday and Christmas presents?” I liked the idea very much and we were off to the races.

I knew I’d need a bag to put lures and tackle items into. As someone who seems to have a camera bag for every occasion (and more besides), I wanted to get just one bag that covered all the bases if possible.

Cabela’s Deluxe Fisherman Series Tackle Bag looked like it ticked all the boxes and was on sale for half the regular price – result.

Cabelas Deluxe Fisherman Series Tackle Bag.

Cabelas Deluxe Fisherman Series Tackle Bag.

It would have been nice to see one before buying it ideally, but the East Hartford branch didn’t have one in stock at the time so the bag and some terminal tackle and a neoprene reel cover were ordered online.

Kathy and I decided to have the gear delivered to the store. When it arrived we would gather the remaining gear on the list. An e-mail notification popped up in my inbox 10 days later saying that the order was ready for pickup. With shopping list (and reel ready to be loaded with line) in hand we headed to East Hartford.

The list saw our sales associate taking a circuitous route through the fishing department and as his colleague loaded up both reel spools for the Penn with Berkley Trilene XT, he soon placed all I needed on the counter.

My list was as follows:

• 11ft Tsunami Sapphire XT Surf Spinning Rod
• Berkley® Trilene® XT® Fishing Line 20lb Test
• Acme Kastmaster XL® Lure 4in Silver/Silver
• Acme Kastmaster® Plain Spoon 1oz Nickel
• Acme Kastmaster® Single Hook Bucktail 2 oz Chrome/Blue
• Tsunami™ Holographic Swim Shad 4in Black/Black
• Cotton Cordell® Pencil Poppers 7in Menhaden
• Berkley® Steel-On Leaders 20lb 18in
• Rapala® Fisherman’s Gloves
• Cabela’s Stainless Steel Tool Kits Pliers/Nipper Kit
• Cabela’s Two-Pack Rod Wraps

A successful mission was in the bag (not really, the bag was still in its box) and once home, the gear was stashed and ready to be inspected and prepared for use.

11ft Tsunami Saphire XT Surf Spinning Rod.

11ft Tsunami Saphire XT Surf Spinning Rod.

Cotton Cordell® Pencil Poppers.

Cotton Cordell® Pencil Poppers.

Tsunami Holographic Swim Shad.

Tsunami Holographic Swim Shad.

Cabela's Stainless Steel Tool Kits Pliers/Nipper Kit.

Cabela’s Stainless Steel Tool Kits Pliers/Nipper Kit.

2 thoughts on “What’s In Yer Bag Mate?

Leave a comment